Austin360 On The Record: Carolyn Wonderland, Abram Shook, Night Drive and more


Carolyn Wonderland, “Moon Goes Missing” (Home). Wonderland is renowned for her blues-firebrand guitar solos and vocals, but her new record is notable in large part for showing a broader range of her musicality. “Swamp” lives up to its name with a deep Louisiana groove, while “She Wants to Know,” written by Houston’s Kenneth Blanchet, finds her swinging sweetly along to an upbeat pop tune underpinned by keyboards. It’s no surprise that she chose to record the George Thorogood classic “Bad to the Bone,” but her understated acoustic slide version is a pleasure. Duets with Ty Taylor (on their co-write “Hellfire Bitters”) and Guy Forsyth (on Bob Dylan’s “Leopard Skin Pillbox Hat”) further diversify the record’s palette, though there’s also classic Wonderland in-the-red heat on Blind Willie Johnson’s “Can’t Nobody Hide From God.” In-store June 16 at Waterloo Records, playing June 19 at Continental Club. Here’s a live version of the title track from the Texas Music Scene television show:

Abram Shook, “Love at Low Speed” (Western Vinyl). This is the third solo record from the longtime touring member of indie band Shearwater, and it’s his best to date. Recording again with co-producers Christopher Cox and Grant Johnson (known for their work with Dana Falconberry, Tinnarose and others), Shook serves up 10 creative compositions that expand upon guitar/keyboard melodic textures with accents of flute, horns and strings. Release show June 24 at Mohawk. Here’s the opening track, “The Hours”:

Night Drive, self-titled (Roll Call). The debut album from the Austin/Houston duo of Rodney Connell and Brandon Duhon provides further evidence of the region’s increasingly prominent electronica scene. Release show June 16 at Cheer Up Charlie’s. Here’s the video for the track “Rise and Fall”:

Quin Galavis, “The Battery Line” (Super Secret). The second release in less than a year from the veteran local indie-rocker, following last year’s double-album “My Life in Steel and Concrete.” Here’s the track “Any Head”:

Stan Coppinger, “Fortune Morning.” The long-time-coming debut album from Coppinger, part of several 1970s Austin bands before he turned to a law career, features 11 original tunes that reveal various elements of Austin’s roots, blues, country and rock ’n’ roll bedrock. The solid supporting cast includes a ringer in pedal steel guitarist Marty Muse of Robert Earl Keen’s band. Release show June 20 at One-2-One Bar. Here’s the opening track, “The Torch”:


RG Lowe, “Slow Time” (Western Vinyl). For a guy who’s long been a member of a renowned instrumental band, Austin’s indie-classical outfit Balmorhea, Lowe is quite a good singer. He takes a very different approach on this nine-song solo debut, which digs deep into sweet and smooth R&B grooves with the help of Philadelphia producer Jeff Ziegler (Kurt Vile, War on Drugs). In-store June 18 at Waterloo Records. Here’s the track “Walk Away”:

Matthew Logan Vasquez, “Does What He Wants” (Dine Alone). The frontman for indie band Delta Spirit has kept busy on the solo front since returning to Austin a couple of years ago. His second record under his own name in as many years mixes more mainstream pop and rock tracks with some quirkier, offbeat material. Release show June 16 at Continental Club. Here’s the video for the track “Red Fish”:

Kay Odyssey, “What’s a Woman to Do.” Ten tracks from the guitar-based all-female indie-rock quartet, following up 2015’s “Chimera.” Playing June 17 at ABGB. Here’s the opening track, “Come On”:

Chili Cold Blood, “The Cabin Sessions.” Down-and-dirty blues, scorching twang, a touch of metal and old-school rock ’n’ roll mingle on these 11 tracks. In-store June 18 at Antone’s Record Shop. Here’s the track “Dew Drop Inn”:


  • JUNE 21: Sam Baker, “Land of Doubt.”
  • JUNE 23: Slaid Cleaves, “Ghost on the Car Radio,” release show July 16 at Stateside at the Paramount.
  • JUNE 23: Robert Kraft Trio, “North Bishop Ave.” Release show June 24 at C-Boy’s.
  • JUNE 23: Eliot Lipp, “Skywave” (Young Heavy Souls).
  • JUNE 30: Shakey Graves, “Nobody’s Fool/Donor Blues EP” reissue (Dualtone), playing Sept. 15 at ACL Live.
  • JUNE 30: Nakia & His Southern Cousins, “Wine to Wine: The Water to Wine Outtakes,” release show June 29 at Antone’s.
  • JULY 1: Mount Pressmore, “The Masked Battle,” release show July 1 at One-2-One Bar.
  • AUG. 18: Ray Wylie Hubbard, “Tell the Devil I’m Getting There As Fast As I Can” (Bordello).
  • AUG. 23: Jean Caffeine, “Sadie Saturday Night.”
  • AUG. 25: Fairbanks & the Lonesome Light, “Nothing to Escape.”
  • SEPT. 1: Johnny Dango, “Recluse in Plain Sight.”
  • NOV. 3: Jackie Venson, “Transcends” EP.

Reader Comments 0

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS